The 21 Day Sugar Detox: Day ??

I’ve been so busy lately.  I woke up this morning and was amazed that it was November 20th already. Time flew. I guess when you take my boring 40 hour per week job and add in crossfit onramp 3x a week at 2 hours a pop and then my holiday influx of photo gigs and I am lucky I have time to make food! That really says something too because I know how important making sure you are eating enough is.

A couple of weeks ago I was talking to a friend about eating paleo and was so happy to see her and her mom giving it a try (especially since they both have autoimmune stuffs too). Discovering paleo has done incredible things for me and I love spreading the anti-grain mantra. As Diane Sanfilippo of Balanced Bites says, “Gluten is bad. Bacon is rad.”!  Also, now I see what sugar did.  It kept weight on me no matter what I did exercise wise.  It made my psoriasis worse.  My psoriasis is still there, but it’s a lot less severe since starting the detox. I need to improve that leaky gut!

I’m excited that I haven’t had a single cup of coffee that contained sugar during the detox. I (with the help of my super awesome and supportive boyfriend) refrained from eating any treats at a Friendsgiving I attended. The only cheats I’ve had on the detox is some balsamic vinegar a handful of times. I’m not even sure if it is cheating. I’m assuming so because there is a little bit of sugar in balsamic. The other cheat was I had a pumpkin souffle. It had a very small amount of maple syrup in it.  Considering I went from two cups of coffee with heaping mounds of sugar a day along with stuffing myself with fruit and chocolate chips in the evening to none of the above, I am proud of myself.

2 thoughts on “The 21 Day Sugar Detox: Day ??

  1. This is great! I’m actually starting the 21-day sugar detox on Sunday. I have serious issues with sugar, so I see some pretty frightening withdrawals in my near future. My poor roommate.

Leave a Reply

